Week 5 Summary Diagram

Summary of Week 5 Topics

Related Diagrams

The Topics

In the lamrim, there are three basic outlines to the precious human life:

  1. Recognizing the eight freedoms and ten fortunes ("the leisure and endowments")
  2. Considering the importance of our precious human life
  3. Recognizing the rarity and difficulty of attaining a precious human life

More about precious human life

The eight freedoms are eight states that we are free from being born into, states which would make it very difficult to practice the Dharma. The purpose of contemplating these is so that we feel how truly precious our life is and, as a result, make good use of it.

More about the eight freedoms

The ten fortunes are the ten richnesses or good qualities we have, things that make it possible for us to learn and practice the Dharma

More about the ten fortunes

This prayer ("Reverently I prostrate with my body, speech, and mind…") is done for two purposes:

  • To purify negative karma
  • To create positive potential (merit)

More about the seven-limb prayer